/ip-intelligence/ — ip intelligence: compare geolocation apis and databases
Compare IP geolocation, ASN data and proxy or VPN detection. Check API and database delivery, free-use restrictions, paid features and billing sources.
Choose the data you need, then check the product tier
Start with location and network fields, proxy or VPN classification, or a database you can query locally. The comparison keeps each product’s access rules beside its documented data. A feature listed for a paid product is not automatically included in its free endpoint.
Filters identify a documented option in the product family. Read the row for the required plan and any restrictions. These listings compare published requirements; they do not rank detection accuracy.
ip intelligence: compare geolocation apis and databases
15 results · alphabeticalCompare data coverage and buying conditions. Scroll horizontally to compare all columns.
| Service | Location & network data | Proxy / VPN signals | Delivery & access |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abstract IP Geolocation API Evaluate location and ASN enrichment, with company and security fields shown in higher-tier product examples. A free allowance supports evaluation; reconcile the public pricing and response-reference differences before committing to a paid integration. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Country, region, city, postal code, coordinates and timezone appear in the reference and product examples. Their nesting and field names differ between those sources.[1][2] ASN and network: Current Starter examples include ASN fields; Standard adds company information. The v1 reference separately documents ASN, ISP, organization and connection type.[1][2] IP versions: The v1 technical reference accepts both IPv4 and IPv6 in ip_address; omitting the parameter uses the caller's address.[1] | Privacy signals: Current Professional examples show separate VPN, proxy, Tor, hosting and relay flags. The v1 reference defines security.is_vpn as VPN or proxy combined; confirm the schema supplied by the chosen plan.[1][2] | Delivery: The technical reference documents a key-authenticated HTTP API with JSON output. Its v1 schema differs from the current product-tier examples.[1][2] Access and free use: An IP Geolocation API key is required. Pricing documents 1,000 free monthly requests at 1 request per second, with no card. Free commercial-use permission is not explicit in the reviewed terms.[1][3][4] Billing unit: Each API is billed separately by request subscription, with overage and possible automatic-upgrade terms. Public pages disagree on paid quotas and rate limits, so reconcile the applicable paid quote before purchase.[3][2][4] |
| BigDataCloud Compare a key-based geolocation package whose free Base tier includes the documented hazard fields. Confidence polygons and BGP/ASN context add detail for applications that need to retain uncertainty and network information. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: The full endpoint documents country, city, locality, postcode, coordinates and timezone, plus a confidence level and estimated confidence-area polygons.[1] ASN and network: The network object includes BGP prefix, registration context and announcing carrier ASNs, with upstream-carrier information when available.[1] IP versions: The full endpoint accepts IPv4 and IPv6 input addresses.[1] | Privacy signals: The full endpoint's Hazard Report includes known proxy, VPN and Tor flags, hosting likelihood, cellular, iCloud Private Relay and blocklist indicators. Package plans, including Base, provide all endpoint fields.[1][2] | Delivery: The IP Geolocation package offers key-authenticated REST APIs with JSON responses. Its plans also include GraphQL access.[1][2][3] Access and free use: The IP Geolocation package requires an account API key, including its free 10,000-request monthly Base tier. No card is needed. Terms limit Base Access to one account per organization.[3][2][4] Billing unit: Plans meter requests monthly. Bronze is USD 29.95/month for 100,000 requests, excluding tax; optional overages are USD 2.995 per 10,000 requests.[2] |
| DB-IP Choose Basic for location, Core for ASN and ISP data, or Extended for proxy and threat fields. Free API access and free Lite downloads have different limits and licensing conditions. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: The Free API returns country, state/province and city. Basic adds detailed location fields including coordinates, postal code and timezone.[4][5] ASN and network: Core adds ASN/name, ISP, organization and connection type to Basic location data. Basic does not include those network fields.[6][5] IP versions: The API accepts IPv4 and IPv6, and the downloadable database catalog covers both.[1][2] | Privacy signals: Extended adds proxy/crawler detection and threat assessment. Its proxyType field distinguishes HTTP proxies, VPNs and Tor; these security fields are not part of Basic or Core.[7][6][1] | Delivery: JSON API and downloadable CSV/MMDB databases, with separate Lite and paid database editions.[1][2][3] Access and free use: The Free API permits 500 daily requests. Paid keys provide the fields and daily allowance of the selected plan. Lite databases use CC BY 4.0 attribution terms, including a backlink for web applications using their results.[4][1][3] Billing unit: Paid API plans have daily query quotas that reset at midnight CET according to the FAQ; requests beyond the limit return an error. Database licensing is separate.[7][8][9] |
| ip-api.com Use the no-key HTTP endpoint for eligible non-commercial projects, or Pro for commercial HTTPS access. Proxy, VPN and Tor exits share one response flag, while hosting is identified separately. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Country, region, city, postal code, coordinates and timezone fields are documented.[2] ASN and network: ISP, organization, ASN/AS name, mobile and hosting fields. ASN fields can be empty for address blocks not announced in BGP tables.[2] IP versions: A query can be an IPv4 address, IPv6 address or domain name.[2] | Privacy signals: The proxy boolean combines proxies, VPNs and Tor exit addresses. A separate hosting boolean covers hosting, colocation and datacenter addresses.[2] | Delivery: Hosted API with JSON/JSONP, XML, CSV, text and PHP output options, plus batch queries.[1] Access and free use: The free endpoint needs no key, uses HTTP and permits non-commercial use at 45 requests per minute per caller IP. Pro adds commercial use, API keys and HTTPS.[2][3][1] Billing unit: Pro advertises unlimited requests subject to its acceptable-use policy. The listed €13.3/month price is a monthly equivalent when paying for 12 months, excluding VAT.[1] |
| IP2Location and IP2Proxy Choose local IP2Location geolocation databases, related IP2Proxy detection databases or the current IP2Location.io API. Detection fields and license rights depend on the selected product and plan. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: The .io Free response includes country, region, city, postal code and coordinates. Local database fields depend on the DB package; API coordinates fall back to a capital-city coordinate when the city is unknown.[3][1] ASN and network: The .io Free response includes ASN and AS name. Starter adds ISP, domain and usage type. Local database packages differ; the catalog includes ASN in DB26.[3][1] IP versions: The current IP2Location.io API accepts IPv4 and IPv6. Confirm address-family coverage for the particular database edition before selecting local files.[3] | Privacy signals: IP2Proxy is the related detection database family. In .io, Free and Starter detect public proxies; Plus adds VPN, Tor and residential-proxy classes; Security adds detailed proxy and datacenter fields.[2][5] | Delivery: Local IP2Location and IP2Proxy databases, plus the IP2Location.io JSON/XML API. The legacy IP2Location Web Service no longer accepts new registrations.[1][2][3][4] Access and free use: The .io API documents 1,000 keyless queries daily or 50,000 monthly on its keyed Free plan; both require attribution. LITE database downloads require a free account and are advertised for personal or commercial projects.[3][5][6] Billing unit: The .io API counts queries within a monthly plan and adds paid overage blocks. Database subscriptions depend on package and license: Standard covers one server for internal use; Site covers controlled servers for internal use.[5][1][7] |
| ipapi.co Kloudend's location and ASN API supports JSON, XML, CSV, YAML and plain-text field lookups. Its free trial is for development; production use and response-retention terms need a separate check. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: City, region, country, postal code, coordinates and timezone, with additional country, currency and language metadata.[1] ASN and network: ASN and organization are documented fields. Hostname is an optional beta add-on requiring separate enablement.[1] IP versions: The API documents both IPv4 and IPv6 support.[1] | Privacy signals: The inspected field reference documents location and ASN data; it does not document proxy, VPN or Tor detection fields.[1] | Delivery: Hosted location API with JSON, JSONP, XML, CSV and YAML responses. Single-field endpoints return plain text.[1] Access and free use: The free trial is for testing/development and is not for production use. Paid signup supplies a token that is included in the API query string.[2] Billing unit: Plans count monthly IP lookups; each repeated lookup of the same address counts again. The entry plan lists 60,000 lookups for $15/month plus tax or $144/year.[2] |
| ipapi.com APILayer's ipapi.com separates location, connection, bulk and security features by plan. Check the non-commercial Free allowance, the Business Pro security requirement and per-call overages before selecting access. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Country, city, postal code and coordinates are documented. Current pricing lists timezone and currency data from Standard onward.[1][2] ASN and network: ASN and ISP information are documented connection data. The current plan table includes Connection Data from Standard.[1][2] IP versions: Standard IP lookup documents support for IPv4 and IPv6 addresses.[1] | Privacy signals: Documentation describes optional Tor/proxy security data. The current plan table lists Security Data on Business Pro and Custom; lower paid tiers do not list that module.[1][2] | Delivery: Hosted API with JSON/XML output and optional JSONP callbacks, including standard IP, origin IP and bulk lookup endpoints.[1] Access and free use: Signup provides an access_key. Free lists 100 lookups and non-commercial use; Standard and higher explicitly permit commercial use. The free allowance's reset interval is not stated clearly.[1][2][3] Billing unit: Paid plans have monthly lookup counts and a per-call charge above quota. Standard lists 50,000/month, Business 500,000 and Business Pro 2,000,000.[2][3] |
| ipdata Use one API for location, ASN and documented threat fields. Check the daily request budget, the non-commercial free-tier restriction and the Business/Enterprise requirement for VPN detection before choosing a plan. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: City, region, country, continent, postal code and approximate coordinates are documented, alongside timezone fields. Coordinates may be near a population center.[3] ASN and network: Basic ASN fields include AS number, organization name, domain, network route and usage type. Company data is listed on Startup and Business plans.[3][2] IP versions: The official CLI documents lookup of both IPv4 and IPv6 addresses.[4] | Privacy signals: Documents Tor, proxy, datacenter and iCloud-relay flags. VPN detection is restricted to Business and Enterprise; is_anonymous is defined as Tor or proxy.[3][2] | Delivery: HTTPS JSON API with global and EU endpoints. Enterprise pricing lists data downloads; their formats and dataset entitlements require confirmation.[1][2] Access and free use: Requests require an API key. The free tier permits 1,500 requests daily for non-commercial use; choose a paid plan for commercial use.[1][2] Billing unit: Plans specify daily request quotas. Paid bulk calls accept up to 100 IPs, with each IP counting as one request against the quota.[2][5] |
| IPGeolocation.io Choose core location data, a separate IP Security lookup or a combined response. The noncommercial free tier excludes security, and paid security modules change the credit cost of each lookup. Local database delivery is licensed separately. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Free includes country, region, city, postal code and coordinates when available. Paid plans add locality, estimated accuracy radius and location confidence.[2] ASN and network: Free includes basic ASN fields. Paid plans add extended ASN, company and network information.[4] IP versions: API lookups support IPv4 and IPv6 addresses.[1][4] | Privacy signals: Paid IP Security documents separate proxy, residential-proxy, VPN, Tor, relay and cloud-provider flags. Security can be requested alone or added to geolocation; it is not part of the free plan.[3][4] | Delivery: HTTPS APIs with JSON or XML output, plus separately licensed database downloads. CSV and MMDB are standard database formats; other formats are available on request.[1][6][7] Access and free use: Most endpoints require an API key or authorized request origin. Free includes 1,000 daily credits and is restricted to noncommercial use by the terms.[1][4][7] Billing unit: A base v3 lookup costs 1 credit, security alone 2, and base lookup plus security 3. Bulk uses the same module cost per valid IP. Starter includes 150,000 monthly credits for USD 19 billed monthly.[5][4] |
| IPinfo Choose between free country/ASN lookup, Core city data with a combined anonymity flag, and Max with separate privacy signals. Database access is a separate product decision. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Lite returns country and continent. Core adds city, region, postal code, coordinates and timezone; Max adds an accuracy radius and change metadata.[2][3][4] ASN and network: Lite returns ASN, organization name and domain. Core adds ASN type plus hosting, mobile, satellite and anycast flags; Max adds carrier details.[2][3][4] IP versions: The API accepts IPv4 and IPv6 addresses and documents dual-stack access, with optional explicit v4 and v6 hostnames.[1] | Privacy signals: Core exposes a combined is_anonymous flag. Max adds separate VPN, proxy, Tor, relay and residential-proxy flags in the anonymous object. Lite has no privacy fields.[2][3][4] | Delivery: HTTPS API and downloadable databases. Core database access requires a separate enterprise subscription; its self-service API plan does not include downloads.[1][3] Access and free use: An API token authenticates requests. Lite is free with unlimited country/ASN requests; the pricing page permits commercial use with attribution.[1][2][5] Billing unit: Paid API allowances are monthly request counts. Metered billing permits paid overages; without it, exceeding the quota produces HTTP 429.[1][5] |
| IPQualityScore Use proxy and VPN detection with network/location enrichment and contextual fraud scoring. Distinguish suspected from active VPN/Tor signals, check Enterprise-only fields, and arrange downloadable database access separately. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Country, region, city, postal code, coordinates and timezone are documented when known. Fields can be N/A or null.[2] ASN and network: ISP, organization, ASN and connection type are documented. Connection type can distinguish Residential, Corporate, Education, Mobile and Data Center.[2] IP versions: The API reference includes IPv4/IPv6 validation. The downloadable reputation database explicitly documents both address families.[1][4] | Privacy signals: Documents proxy, VPN, Tor, active VPN/Tor and fraud signals. Enriched fields including frequent_abuser, shared_connection and dynamic_connection are Enterprise data points; confirm other fields against the account's entitlement.[2] | Delivery: API-key-authenticated JSON or XML lookup API, plus a separate downloadable/on-premise database offering. The reviewed database page does not specify a file format.[1][4] Access and free use: API access requires an account key. The product advertises 1,000 free IP lookups per month; terms prohibit duplicate accounts for extra free credits and allow evaluation-access limits.[1][3][5] Billing unit: Each lookup/request normally consumes one query credit, with specific exclusions. Paid subscriptions and prepaid packs are documented; a current paid-price table was not exposed in the reviewed plans page.[5][6] |
| Ipregistry Get location, ASN and separate proxy, VPN, Tor and relay signals in every API plan. Choose credits for hosted lookups or separately licensed datasets for local processing. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Country, region, city, postal code and approximate coordinates. Unknown field values are null; coordinates do not identify a household or street address.[1] ASN and network: ASN, announcing route, network name and type, company details and mobile-carrier fields are documented.[1] IP versions: IP lookup fields document both IPv4 and IPv6 addresses.[1] | Privacy signals: Separate proxy, residential-proxy, VPN, relay, Tor-relay, Tor-exit and cloud-provider flags. Every API plan includes the full response; these fields are not reserved for a higher API tier.[1][3] | Delivery: Hosted JSON API and separately subscribed CSV/MMDB datasets for local lookup. The AS dataset is listed as CSV only.[1][2] Access and free use: An account and API key are required. New accounts receive 20,000 free credits once, without a stated time limit; this is not a recurring monthly allocation.[4][3] Billing unit: A single lookup uses one credit. Batch endpoints use one credit per lookup plus one for the batch request. Monthly allowances and non-expiring packs are separate purchasing options.[3] |
| IPWHOIS.io (ipwho.is) Use the no-key ipwho.is endpoint for commercial geolocation within its daily allowance. Move to Business or Unlimited on ipwhois.pro for security flags or bulk requests; Basic adds volume without those capabilities. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Country, region, city, postal code and approximate coordinates are documented, alongside timezone fields.[1] ASN and network: The connection object provides ASN, organization, ISP and domain.[1] IP versions: Single lookups accept IPv4 and IPv6. Business/Unlimited bulk requests can mix both families, with up to 100 IPs per call.[1][4] | Privacy signals: Business and Unlimited provide proxy, VPN, Tor, hosting, relay and mobile fields when security=1 is requested. Free and Basic do not include security data.[1][3] | Delivery: The free API uses ipwho.is and paid access uses ipwhois.pro, with JSON, XML or CSV output. Enterprise database downloads are offered separately in MMDB, CSV or JSON.[1][2][3] Access and free use: Free needs no signup or key, permits commercial use, and allows 1,000 requests per day per client IP. CORS requests share a limit by website domain. Paid access requires an API key.[1][2] Billing unit: Basic is USD 19.99/month for 600,000 requests; Business is USD 39.99/month for 3 million. Business/Unlimited bulk calls cost one credit per IP, not one per batch.[3][4] |
| MaxMind GeoIP and GeoLite Compare free GeoLite geolocation, paid GeoIP web services and local databases. Choose Insights or an Anonymous IP database when anonymizer signals are required, and plan database updates as part of the integration. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: Country and City editions provide different geographic detail. City data describes an area using coordinates and an accuracy radius; city and postal fields may be unavailable.[3] ASN and network: GeoLite offers a separate ASN database. Web-service fields include ASN number, ASN organization and network; ISP and organization fields are not included in GeoLite City.[3][2] IP versions: Web services accept IPv4 and IPv6 inputs. Anonymous IP CSV downloads contain separate IPv4 and IPv6 network files.[1][4] | Privacy signals: GeoIP Insights and the Anonymous IP database provide VPN, public-proxy, Tor-exit, hosting and residential-proxy signals. The API anonymizer object is Insights-only.[2][4] | Delivery: HTTPS JSON web services and local MMDB or CSV databases. GeoLite and Anonymous IP are separate datasets with different fields.[1][3][4] Access and free use: An account and license key are required. GeoLite requires attribution and compliance with its EULA, including update and redistribution conditions. It permits internal business use subject to those terms.[1][5] Billing unit: Paid web services use service credit for queries. Free GeoLite allows 1,000 lookups per day per service and 30 database downloads per day; Anonymous IP download pricing requires sales contact.[1][3][4] |
| proxycheck.io Compare daily address allowances for proxy, VPN, Tor and hosting classification. The v3 reference separates risk from detection confidence and recency; free access includes the core detection features, with lower usage and customization limits. Checked [ full profile & sources ] | Location data: The v3 OpenAPI schema lists country, region, city, coordinates and timezone. Missing values can be null.[2] ASN and network: The v3 reference lists ASN, network range, hostname, provider, organization and allocation type.[1][2] IP versions: The API documentation accepts IPv4 and IPv6 inputs, including multiple-address requests.[1] | Privacy signals: The v3 schema lists proxy, VPN, Tor and hosting booleans, plus risk, confidence and detection timestamps. Pricing includes core detection features on Free; customization limits vary by plan.[2][1][3] | Delivery: HTTP JSON API. The v3 reference documents nested network, location and detection objects; some prose still calls v2 the latest version, so keep the API version explicit.[1][2] Access and free use: Keyless access allows 100 queries/day; a registered free key allows 1,000/day. Origin-bound public browser keys check only the requesting visitor's IP. One free account is allowed per customer.[1][4] Billing unit: Each checked address consumes daily quota. The v3 service table allows up to 100 addresses per keyless request or 1,000 with a registered key. The daily allowance is separate from this batch limit.[1][3] |
Documentation reviews establish published requirements. They do not measure performance or confirm a successful paid connection.
How these listings are reviewed
We read official documentation and installation sources, identify the specific product and attach sources to individual facts. Community resources identify their maintainer. Unknown limits stay unknown. Records are due for review within 30 days; overdue entries are marked and excluded from search indexing until rechecked.
Pricing descriptions preserve billing units and product restrictions. Documentation describes supported behavior; your target, account, location and software version can affect results.
Documentation checks do not establish geolocation accuracy or detection performance. A missing field or a negative classification is not a guarantee about an address.
Download this collection as JSON · Suggest a correction · Affiliate disclosure